Bookworm

joiDSC_7716

I recently went on a holiday to Poland and decided to have a day to myself and do what I enjoy; visit all the bookstores I could possibly find. I thought of it as a fun and peaceful trip visiting my mind and imagination,I like to do that sometimes.

Before I go any further I will come clean about one thing- I am not as big of a bookworm as Nicole, that girl can read a book in an hour. And never leaves her house or the country without one in her bag.

Since I was a little girl and visited one of those independent bookshops I’ve been hunting them down wherever I go. I love the smell of new and old books put together; it makes me think about all these people holding and reading the book I’m holding in my hands, wondering if they enjoyed it or thought of it still. What I look at first is the front cover, if the cover catches my eye there is a good chance I will end up buying the book. I love the thrill of excitement I get when I open it and read the very first sentence, not knowing what to expect. As everything in life a book can often disappoint, but there are times when it just takes you away. When I start reading I don’t like to leave a book unfinished even if I don’t particularly enjoy it. I prefer to find something to hold onto and focus on it and spend the rest of my time wondering how I would change it. I know I really liked a book when it hunts me down after a few days, weeks or even months after I finish reading.

76675

A long time has passed since I discovered Haruki Murakami, a Japanese author who has time after time proved to me that he is worth my time as a reader! I find myself having to take a break in between reading his books just to make the most of what I’ve read about and not to get bored. I fell in love with his style, characters, and the places he takes me to. He made me want to know more about Japanese culture and himself. I am not only considering a trip to Japan one day only because of sushi now…When I read his books I feel like I’m walking and getting to know the streets of Tokyo, inspiring and full of life. He’s considered one of the greatest living novelists not without a reason. His books are written in a very simple, basic manner but they can make you forget all about your problems and life. When you open one of his novels you become the characters he writes about, you lose yourself.

DSC_9281Haruki Murakami was born during the baby boom after the Second World War. His work is influenced by Western culture, mostly the music and literature. He studied Drama at a university in Tokyo, where he met his wife after whom he named one of the main characters in his book; my personal favourite, Norwegian Wood. In his early years he worked in a music store, but in 1974 he opened a coffeehouse with Yoko, which in the evenings changed into a jazz bar called ”Peter Cat”. He wrote his first fiction when he was 29, because as he said, he was inspired by a baseball game. Haruki suddenly realised he could write a novel and have done so when he returned home that night. How cool is that, right? I hope this happens to me one day… (I will just keep on dreaming)

DSC_9274

Many of his novels have themes and titles that were inspired by classical music, such as the three books making up The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle. Some of his novels take their titles from songs: Dance, Dance, Dance (after The Dells’ song), Norwegian Wood (after The Beatles’ song) and South of the Border, West of the Sun.
At the age of 33, Murakami decided to become a marathon runner and in 1996 completed his first ultra-marathon in Japan. In 2008 he wrote a book where he discusses his relationship with running-
”What I Talk about When I Talk about Running.” If you love reading, please check him out as he really is worth your time!

Murakami-Tazaki-2

Most of these photos were taken in Madrid, one of the things I loved most about that city was the fact that it was absolutely FULL of books. Everywhere you went there were little stalls or markets were they sold second-hand books. I couldn’t help myself and stopped at almost every single one of them, even though I knew the books were all written in Spanish.

Hope you’re all enjoying this beautiful weather. Spring is finally here and I can already feel all the summer vibes coming through. Best time.

Joanna x

4 thoughts on “Bookworm

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

