It’d Rather be Reading

I don’t think I ever truly realised how scary it’d be to finish uni. It feels great (or it should), I’m free, right? In reality I find myself a little lost; since I started education, year after year I knew exactly where I’d be. I liked that, I like a plan and I certainly LOVE knowing what happens next (yes, I’m a little bit of a control freak). Now that it’s all up in the air, I have no idea what’s waiting for me next. It’s exciting but it’ll take time getting used to. I have a few dreams and ideas for next year but I don’t want to share anything in case it all goes wrong.

I’ve been frantically looking for work experience and jobs; it’s a longer process than I hoped it would be. Call me naïve but I thought I would at least have a few places lined up for work experience. But so far…? Big fat, NOTHING. I keep waiting for something to happen (not magically- I have been applying and searching like crazy) but so far I’ve had no luck. It’s makes me a little sad and it’s been a strange time but I’m sure I’ll eventually get something- here’s hoping!

There have been quite a few perks to my new situation as I’ve been able to spend more time with the fam and relax. The best part of it all is that I have all the time in the world to READ. I have been going through books at lighting speed and I LOVE IT. My brain has been so consumed with deadlines, dissertation writing and James Bond that it’s a relief to just enjoy it. It’s nice to not think about the time and read!

Before I go on any of my trips in the few weeks, I wanted to share a few good reads I have stumbled upon recently. I will attach links to the books so you can find them on Amazon straight away.

My definite number 1 is a book called The Wrong Knickers by Bryony Gordon. It’s a light read so if you’re looking for something to grab and chill in the sun, this is the perfect choice. I’m still reading it and I love every page, I can’t remember the last time I laughed so much reading a book.

IMG_20170501_154902_197

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wrong-Knickers-Decade-Chaos/dp/147221014X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1493661910&sr=8-2&keywords=bryony+gordon

Number 2 is a book by a French author, Jean-Paul Didierlaurent called The Reader on the 6.27. It’s an absolutely charming story which reminds me of Amelie (one of my favourite French films). I read it in a few hours, it was impossible to put it down. For any French cinema lovers and books this one is DEFINITELY for YOU.

IMG_20170501_191121_618

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Reader-6-27-Jean-Paul-Didierlaurent/dp/1509836853/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1493661940&sr=8-1&keywords=the+reader+on+the+6.27

Number 3 and last on my list today is Truly, Madly, Guilty by Liane Moriarty. I need to start by saying I absolutely love all of her books and I wasn’t disappointed. It’s not as good as Big Little Lies or The Husband’s Secret but I still really enjoyed it.

IMG_20170501_191154_000

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Truly-Madly-Guilty-Liane-Moriarty/dp/1405932090/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1493661966&sr=8-1&keywords=truly+madly+guilty

 

If you decide to read any of the books I mention here, I really hope you enjoy!

It feels good to be back.

Love,

Joanna

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

