Director: Nacho Vigalondo. Cast: Anne Hathaway, Jason Sudeikis, Dan Stevens, Tim Blake Nelson, Austin Stowell, Agam Darshi. 15 cert, 109 mins

As I’ve mentioned in one of my previous posts, I’ve been trying to get as many internships lined up as humanly possible. One of the ones I’ve managed to get is at the GFT (Glasgow Film Theatre) and I’m SUPER excited about it. I’ll get to watch some cool, niche films while gaining experience and free tickets. WHAT’S NOT TO LIKE? I’m really excited about it and I decided to have a little ‘film club’ on the blog. I’ll be getting to see more new releases than previously so I thought I’d share my views on some of them! I would love to hear what you guys think about any of the films I may write about, please don’t be shy and comment.

Soooo…our first film is…COLOSSAL a 2016 Canadian/Spanish science fiction black comedy film directed and written by Nacho Vigalondo.

P_HO00004488

Anne Hathaway who I haven’t seen in anything for a while, plays Gloria a character who drinks too hard and parties too much. At the very beginning of the film she is kicked out of her boyfriend’s apartment who has had enough of her hectic lifestyle. Gloria left with little options left decides to return to her hometown, dreaming of making a new start. She ends up reviving her childhood friendship with Oscar played by Jason Sudejkis who runs a bar. He struggles with his fairly ordinary life, you can tell he’s pretty disappointed about never leaving it. One night after drinking the night away with Oscar and his friends, Gloria wakes up to discover a gigantic monster rampaging through Seoul and realises that somehow the monster is connected to her.

Colossal+-+Bench

The film touches upon different themes such as her alcohol problem, Oscar’s frustrations and their weird friendship but centres around the connection between Gloria and Oscar with the monster in Seoul. At first I wasn’t sure if I liked it or not but the more time passes since seeing it, the more I think about it fondly. It’s good fun, but it also keeps you at the edge of your seat.

Here is a little trailer if you wanna check it out!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fqcZtz8VXXE

I don’t want to spoil it for anyone so I will leave this post brief. I’d love to hear what you thought if you’ve seen it! Let me know.

 

Love,

Joanna

colossal-horizontal

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

